Western Sahara: states list & information about EH

Western Sahara is a country in the continent of Africa, the currency of this country is the Dirham, you can see a list of all the states in Western Sahara. by clicking on each item, you can see the cities related to View it, for example, if you click on Laâyoune-Sakia El Hamra , Western Sahara, a list of cities will open for you, according to the latest survey, Western Sahara has 3 states.

states of Western Sahara in alphabetical order

  1. Dakhla
  2. Laayoune Plage
  3. Laâyoune-Sakia El Hamra , Western Sahara

Western Sahara flag

Western Sahara

Western Sahara: A Guide to Africa's Last Colony

Western Sahara, located on the northwest coast of Africa, is a disputed territory that has been the subject of a long-standing conflict between Morocco and the Polisario Front. The territory has been on the United Nations list of non-self-governing territories since 1963 and is considered to be Africa's last colony.


Western Sahara was a Spanish colony until 1975 when Spain withdrew and Morocco and Mauritania annexed the territory. This led to a war between Morocco and the Polisario Front, which had been fighting for Western Sahara's independence. Mauritania withdrew from the conflict in 1979, and Morocco has since controlled most of Western Sahara.

The United Nations has attempted to broker a resolution to the conflict, and a ceasefire has been in place since 1991. However, a referendum on independence for Western Sahara has not been held, and the situation remains unresolved.


Western Sahara is located in North Africa, bordered by Morocco to the north, Algeria to the northeast, Mauritania to the east and south, and the Atlantic Ocean to the west. The territory is mostly desert, with a few oases, and has a coastline of over 1,000 km.


The economy of Western Sahara is largely based on fishing, phosphate mining, and limited pastoralism. However, most of the territory's resources are controlled by Morocco, and the Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic (SADR), which is the government-in-exile of Western Sahara, has called for a boycott of Moroccan products in an attempt to pressure the country to withdraw from the territory.


Western Sahara is not a major tourist destination, largely due to the ongoing conflict and the lack of infrastructure in the territory. However, there are a few sites of interest, including the historic town of Laayoune, the birdwatching site of Dakhla Bay, and the natural wonder of the White Desert.


The Sahrawi people are the indigenous population of Western Sahara and have a rich cultural heritage that includes music, dance, and handicrafts. The traditional music of Western Sahara is characterized by the use of the tabal drum and the ardin, a stringed instrument, and is often performed at weddings and other celebrations.

Handicrafts produced by the Sahrawi include pottery, weaving, and embroidery, and are often sold in local markets. The territory also has a rich literary tradition, with poetry and storytelling playing an important role in Sahrawi culture.


Western Sahara is a fascinating and complex territory with a long and complicated history. While the ongoing conflict has made it a challenging destination for tourism and investment, the unique culture and natural wonders of the territory continue to inspire interest and curiosity around the world.

Information of Western Sahara

Number of states Number of cities Currency
3 4 Dirham