Romania: states list & information about RO

Romania is a country in the continent of Europe, the currency of this country is the Leu, you can see a list of all the states in Romania. by clicking on each item, you can see the cities related to View it, for example, if you click on Vrancea, a list of cities will open for you, according to the latest survey, Romania has 42 states.

states of Romania in alphabetical order

  1. Alba
  2. Arad
  3. Arges
  4. Bacau
  5. Bihor
  6. Bistrita-Nasaud
  7. Botosani
  8. Braila
  9. Brasov
  10. Bucuresti
  11. Buzau
  12. Calarasi, Romania
  13. Caras-Severin
  14. Cluj
  15. Constanta
  16. Covasna
  17. Dambovita
  18. Dolj
  19. Galati
  20. Giurgiu
  21. Gorj
  22. Harghita
  23. Hunedoara
  24. Ialomita
  25. Iasi
  26. Ilfov
  27. Maramures
  28. Mehedinti
  29. Mures
  30. Neamt
  31. Olt
  32. Prahova
  33. Salaj
  34. Satu Mare
  35. Sibiu
  36. Suceava
  37. Teleorman
  38. Timis
  39. Tulcea
  40. Valcea
  41. Vaslui
  42. Vrancea

Romania flag


Explore the Wonders of Romania

Romania is a beautiful country located in southeastern Europe, known for its stunning natural landscapes, rich history, and vibrant culture. In this article, we will highlight some of the best things to see and do in Romania.

The Natural Beauty of Romania

Romania is a country of diverse and breathtaking natural landscapes. The Carpathian Mountains run through the heart of the country, offering visitors the opportunity to hike, ski, and explore the beautiful wilderness. The country is also home to the Danube Delta, the second-largest river delta in Europe, which is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and a haven for wildlife, including rare species of birds and fish.

Other natural wonders of Romania include the picturesque painted monasteries of Bucovina, the salt mines of Turda, and the stunning Black Sea coast, where visitors can relax on beautiful beaches and explore charming seaside towns.

The Rich History of Romania

Romania has a rich and complex history, with influences from the Roman Empire, Ottoman Empire, and Austro-Hungarian Empire. Visitors can explore this history by visiting the numerous castles, fortresses, and churches that dot the country.

One of the most famous landmarks in Romania is Bran Castle, often referred to as Dracula's Castle, due to its association with the legendary vampire. Other notable historical sites include the painted monasteries of Bucovina, the fortified churches of Transylvania, and the ancient ruins of the Dacian civilization.

The Vibrant Culture of Romania

Romania has a vibrant and unique culture that is influenced by its history and diverse population. Visitors can experience this culture by attending traditional festivals, such as the Transylvanian International Film Festival or the George Enescu International Music Festival.

The country is also known for its rich folklore traditions, including its intricate woven textiles, woodcarvings, and pottery. Visitors can explore these traditions by visiting local artisans and markets throughout the country.

The Delicious Cuisine of Romania

Romania has a delicious and diverse cuisine that reflects its cultural influences. Visitors can sample dishes such as sarmale, cabbage rolls stuffed with meat and rice, and mici, a type of grilled sausage made with beef, lamb, or pork.

Another must-try dish is mămăligă, a type of polenta made with cornmeal and served with sour cream and cheese. Romania is also known for its delicious pastries, including covrigi, a type of soft pretzel, and papanasi, a type of fried doughnut served with sour cream and jam.


Romania is a destination that offers something for everyone, from its stunning natural landscapes and rich history to its vibrant culture and delicious cuisine. Whether you are interested in hiking, exploring historical landmarks, or experiencing local traditions and festivals, Romania is a destination that should not be missed.

States in Romania

Romania is divided into states known as județe in Romanian.

There are several questions people often ask about the states in Romania:

  • How many states are there in Romania?
  • What are the names of the states in Romania?
  • Which state is close to Romania?
  • Which state in Romania has the most cities?

Here is the list of states in Romania:

  • Alba
  • Arad
  • Argeș
  • Bacău
  • Bihor
  • Bistrița-Năsăud
  • Botoșani
  • Brașov
  • Brăila
  • Buzău
  • Caraș-Severin
  • Călărași
  • Cluj
  • Constanța
  • Covasna
  • Dâmbovița
  • Dolj
  • Galați
  • Gorj
  • Harghita
  • Hunedoara
  • Ialomița
  • Iași
  • Ilfov
  • Maramureș
  • Mehedinți
  • Mureș
  • Neamț
  • Olt
  • Prahova
  • Sălaj
  • Satu Mare
  • Sibiu
  • Suceava
  • Teleorman
  • Timiș
  • Tulcea
  • Vâlcea
  • Vaslui
  • Vrancea

Cities in Romania

Romania is home to many beautiful cities. Here is a list of some major cities in Romania:

  • Bucharest
  • Cluj-Napoca
  • Timișoara
  • Iași
  • Constanța
  • Oradea
  • Brăila
  • Galați
  • Arad
  • Brașov
  • Ploiești
  • Brăila
  • Sibiu
  • Bacău
  • Arad
  • Târgu Mureș
  • Buzău
  • Oradea
  • Baia Mare
  • Botoșani

These cities offer a glimpse into Romania's rich culture, history, and architecture.

Information of Romania

Number of states Number of cities Currency
42 7001 Leu