Portugal: states list & information about PT

Portugal is a country in the continent of Europe, the currency of this country is the EURO, you can see a list of all the states in Portugal. by clicking on each item, you can see the cities related to View it, for example, if you click on Viseu, a list of cities will open for you, according to the latest survey, Portugal has 20 states.

states of Portugal in alphabetical order

  1. Aveiro
  2. Azores
  3. Beja
  4. Braga
  5. Braganca
  6. Castelo Branco
  7. Coimbra
  8. District of Setubal
  9. Evora
  10. Faro
  11. Guarda
  12. Leiria
  13. Lisbon
  14. Madeira
  15. Portalegre
  16. Porto
  17. Santarem
  18. Viana do Castelo
  19. Vila Real
  20. Viseu

Portugal flag


Explore the Rich History and Beauty of Portugal

Portugal is a country located on the Iberian Peninsula in southwestern Europe, bordered by Spain to the east and the Atlantic Ocean to the west. Known for its rich history, stunning coastline, and warm hospitality, Portugal is a popular destination for travelers from around the world. In this article, we will explore some of the highlights of this beautiful country.

The History of Portugal

Portugal has a long and fascinating history, dating back thousands of years. The country was once a powerful maritime empire, with colonies and trading posts in Africa, Asia, and the Americas. Today, Portugal is known for its historic cities, charming towns, and picturesque villages, each with its own unique character and story to tell.

Some of the most popular historical sites in Portugal include the Tower of Belém in Lisbon, a UNESCO World Heritage Site that dates back to the 16th century, and the medieval city of Évora, which is home to a number of ancient Roman ruins.

The Natural Beauty of Portugal

Portugal is known for its stunning coastline, which stretches for more than 800 kilometers and includes some of the most beautiful beaches in Europe. From the rugged cliffs of the Algarve to the golden sands of the Costa de Prata, there is something for everyone along Portugal's coast.

Inland, visitors can explore the country's many national parks, including the Parque Nacional da Peneda-Gerês and the Parque Natural da Serra da Estrela. These protected areas are home to a wide variety of flora and fauna, as well as some of the most breathtaking landscapes in the country.

The Culture of Portugal

Portugal is a country with a rich and diverse culture, shaped by its history and location at the crossroads of Europe, Africa, and the Americas. Visitors can explore this culture by visiting museums and art galleries, attending traditional festivals and fairs, and sampling the country's delicious cuisine.

Portuguese cuisine is famous for its seafood, including grilled sardines, octopus, and bacalhau (salt cod). Other popular dishes include cozido (a hearty stew made with meats and vegetables) and pastéis de nata (delicious custard tarts).

The People of Portugal

Portuguese people are known for their warm hospitality and welcoming nature. Visitors to the country can expect to be greeted with a smile and made to feel at home, whether they are exploring the bustling cities or the quiet countryside.

The Portuguese are also known for their love of music, with fado (traditional Portuguese music) being a particularly important part of the country's cultural heritage. Visitors can enjoy live performances of fado in many of the country's bars and restaurants.


Portugal is a country with a rich history, stunning natural beauty, and vibrant culture. From the historic cities of Lisbon and Porto to the rugged coastline of the Algarve, there is something for everyone in this beautiful country. Whether you are interested in history, nature, or culture, Portugal is a destination that should not be missed.

Information of Portugal

Number of states Number of cities Currency
20 878 EURO