Burundi: provinces list & information about BI

Burundi is a country in the continent of Africa, the currency of this country is the Burundi Franc, you can see a list of all the provinces in Burundi. by clicking on each item, you can see the cities related to View it, for example, if you click on Ruyigi, a list of cities will open for you, according to the latest survey, Burundi has 18 provinces.

provinces of Burundi in alphabetical order

  1. Bubanza
  2. Bujumbura Mairie
  3. Bujumbura Rural
  4. Bururi
  5. Cankuzo
  6. Cibitoke
  7. Gitega
  8. Karuzi
  9. Kayanza
  10. Kirundo
  11. Makamba
  12. Muramvya
  13. Muyinga
  14. Mwaro
  15. Ngozi
  16. Rumonge
  17. Rutana
  18. Ruyigi

Burundi flag


Discover the Beauty of Burundi

Burundi is a small, landlocked country located in East Africa. Despite its small size, it is a country full of beauty, culture, and history. From its stunning landscapes to its unique cultural traditions, Burundi is a destination worth exploring.

History and Culture

Burundi has a rich history dating back to the 16th century when the country was ruled by powerful monarchs. Today, visitors can explore the remnants of this history at sites like the Royal Palace of Ntare Rushatsi and the Gishora Drum Sanctuary. Burundi is also known for its unique cultural traditions, such as drumming and dancing, which can be experienced at cultural centers like the Living Museum of Bujumbura.

Nature and Wildlife

Burundi is home to a variety of stunning landscapes and wildlife. From the beautiful Lake Tanganyika to the scenic Rusizi National Park, visitors can explore the natural beauty of Burundi. The country is also home to a variety of wildlife, including elephants, hippos, and chimpanzees, which can be seen at the Kibira National Park.

Local Cuisine

Burundi's cuisine is influenced by its East African and French colonial heritage. Some popular dishes include isombe (cassava leaves with peanut sauce), mukeke (stewed plantains), and brochettes (grilled meat skewers). Visitors can try these dishes and more at local restaurants and markets.


Burundi may be a small country, but it has a lot to offer visitors who are looking for an authentic African experience. From its rich history and culture to its stunning natural beauty and unique cuisine, Burundi is a destination worth exploring. So why not plan your next adventure to this hidden gem in East Africa?

Information of Burundi

Number of provinces Number of cities Currency
18 21 Burundi Franc